1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Chuck Bednarik Award Winners


The Chuck Bednarik Award, named for the College and Pro Football Hall of Famer, is given annually to the College Defensive Football Player of the Year.

2011 Tyrann Mathieu, LSU
2010 Patrick Peterson, LSU
2009 Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska
2008 Rey Maualuga, USC
2007 Dan Connor, Penn State
2006 Paul Posluszny, Penn State
2005 Paul Posluszny, Penn State
2004 David Pollack, Georgia
2003 Teddy Lehman, Oklahoma
2002 E. J. Henderson, Maryland
2001 Julius Peppers, North Carolina
2000 Dan Morgan, Miami FL
1999 LaVar Arrington, Penn State
1998 Dat Nguyen, Texas A&M
1997 Charles Woodson, Michigan
1996 Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern
1995 Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern
1994 Warren Sapp, Miami FL
1993 Rob Waldrop, Arizona

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.