1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Discuss in my forum

Super Bowl Coin Toss


For the first eleven Super Bowls, game officials handled the pre-game coin toss. Since that time, a series of honorary coin flippers have been appointed each year.

Super Bowl I - Game Official
Super Bowl II - Game Official
Super Bowl III - Game Official
Super Bowl IV - Game Official
Super Bowl V - Game Official
Super Bowl VI - Game Official
Super Bowl VII - Game Official
Super Bowl VIII - Game Official
Super Bowl IX - Game Official
Super Bowl X - Game Official
Super Bowl XI - Game Official
Super Bowl XII - Red Grange
Super Bowl XIII - George Halas
Super Bowl XIV - Art Rooney
Super Bowl XV - Marie Lombardi
Super Bowl XVI - Bobby Layne
Super Bowl XVII - Elroy Hirsch
Super Bowl XVIII - Bronko Nagurski
Super Bowl XIX - Hugh McElhenny (with President Ronald Reagan on video)
Super Bowl XX - Bart Starr (representing 17 MVPs who were present)
Super Bowl XXI - Willie Davis
Super Bowl XXII - Don Hutson
Super Bowl XXIII - Nick Buoniconti, Bob Griese*, and Larry Little
Super Bowl XXIV - Mel Blount, Terry Bradshaw, Art Shell, and Willie Wood*
Super Bowl XXV - Pete Rozelle
Super Bowl XXVI - Chuck Noll
Super Bowl XXVII - O.J. Simpson
Super Bowl XXVIII - Joe Namath
Super Bowl XXIX - Otto Graham*, Joe Greene, Ray Nitschke, and Gale Sayers
Super Bowl XXX - Joe Montana (representing 25 MVPs who were present)
Super Bowl XXXI - Mike Ditka, Tom Flores, Tom Landry, Chuck Noll, George Seifert, and Hank Stram*
Super Bowl XXXII - Joe Gibbs*, Eddie Robinson, and Doug Williams
Super Bowl XXXIII - Raymond Berry, Roosevelt Brown, Art Donovan, Frank Gifford, Sam Huff, Tom Landry, Gino Marchetti*, Don Maynard, Lenny Moore, Jim Parker, and Andy Robustelli.
Super Bowl XXXIV - Bud Grant, Lamar Hunt*, Bobby Bell, Paul Crause, Willie Lanier, Alan Page, and Jan Stenerud
Super Bowl XXXV - Marcus Allen, Ottis Anderson, Tom Flores*, and Bill Parcells
Super Bowl XXXVI - Former President George Bush and Roger Staubach*
Super Bowl XXXVII - Nick Buoniconti, Larry Csonka, Bob Griese, Jim Langer, Larry Little, Don Shula*, and Paul Warfield
Super Bowl XXXVIII - Earl Campbell, Ollie Matson, Don Maynard, Mike Singletary, Y.A. Tittle*, and Gene Upshaw
Super Bowl XXXIX - Four youth football players, 2004 NFL High School Coach of the Year Bill McGregor*, and youth football coach Tamaris Jackson
Super Bowl XL - Tom Brady
Super Bowl XLI - Dan Marino* and Norma Hunt
Super Bowl XLII - Ronnie Lott*, Jerry Rice, Steve Young, along with Bill Walsh's children, Craig and Elizabeth.
Super Bowl XLIII - Roger Craig, John Elway, Gen. David Petraeus and Lynn Swann
Super Bowl XLIV - Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2010 (led by Jerry Rice)
Super Bowl XLV - Deion Sanders

*coin tosser


©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.